Super Bowl Madness


I just finished watching a full slate of NFL games today.  I don’t normally watch the American game but in an attempt to stay current with the manliest of conversations that will no doubt infest work tomorrow, I watched both final games.

Super Bowl XLV

In the afternoons first clash the Green Bay Packers battled the Chicago Bears.  This was a hard game for me to pick a team to root for.  I used to pull for Da Bears in my youth, but since I am surrounded by Cheeseheads at work I took the cowards way out and was rewarded with a Green Bay victory.   The game was full of turnovers and a lifeless 3rd quarter almost put me to sleep.  Da Bears fought back in the 4th but just didn’t have it in them to put Cheesehead Nation out of the running.

Green Bay Packers

In the second tilt, the NY Jets travelled to Pittsburgh to face the Steelers.  To be totally honest I only caught bits and pieces of this game.  I was enthralled with playing the Raving Rabbids on Wii.  Thankfully my video game crashed on me with enough time to see the final minutes and Pittsburgh take the game by 5 points advancing to the Superbowl.

Pittsburgh Steelers

Being a fan of the Canadian game I really don’t get all of the nuances of the U.S. game.  However since it is cold as all frozen hell outside and I was planning on having a lazy day anyway, it seemed the perfect fit.

Now I can successfully bullshit with the best of them tomorrow.  Secure in my knowledge of scores and enough of the big plays to make it seem like I actually know what I am talking about.

Wish me luck!

Bob

6 responses to “Super Bowl Madness

  1. Oh good luck with the “Football guy talk” 🙂

    Personally I am more of a rugby fan. Love the game and the payers are always nice to look at as well… hmmm 😀

    • Thanks Ivy. Things around the water cooler were good today.
      Cheering for the Packers in the first game seemed to be a good strategy, mostly because a huge number of Bears supporters took the day off.

      Hmmm wonder why??

  2. Being a minor Packers fan, and a huge Steelers fan, I watched part of both games. As a rule I generally don’t watch an entire game unless it’s Superbowl (I’m not a huge sports fan >_<).

    Good luck with the guy talk though!!

    And out of family loyatly, Go Steeler's!!!!

    • I normally only watch a few games a year as well. I just can’t seem to get myself all wrapped up in the weekly drama of a game I hardly understand the minutia of. Never the less I did slog though my two games yesterday thanks in part to breaks on the Wii during the second match up.

    • I am up in the air on who to pull for in the upcoming match. I really haven’t followed NFL football all that much this year and really couldn’t name more than a handful of players from either squad.

      But since I work with a number of HUGE Packers fans who “strongly suggest” that the packers are the better team. I think maybe I will cave into the pack mentality and pull for Cheesehead Nation.

      GO Packers Go