BBQ Canadian Winter Style.


In a time before I lived with Darlene and Dom, I used to live a pretty swinging lifestyle.  I knew for a fact that I may not be the most athletic, or the best looking, or even the smartest branch on the tree.  But one thing I knew for sure is that if I could get a lady talking, maybe go for a coffee and walk in the park that I had a chance.

Yes winter finally has decended, it's only 5 pm.

Women, let’s face facts you all like men that can cook.  Not only can this Bobby cook but he does a freaking fab ass BBQ and as time went on I’ve become a one woman man and now she gets all the good that I have to give.

Using a 4 grate and two zone set up for my charcoal maximizing air intake.

Anyhow, when this week Dar started on a mid winter meat craze I got thinking full on BBQ.  To the south they call it Grilling and that is correct, but what I tend to do is kind of hybrid of BBQ and Grilling.

Earlier in life I was treated to an excellent Webber Charcoal Grill, it has since been my go to for any thing small and quick. Now I have a bigger grill that does also an excellent job if tended to in the right manner.

To prepare my meats I like to use an herb and essence infused marinade. A vacuum sealer, was also used to get the flavors into the Rib Steaks in record time.

As for my BBQ method, I always like to use a two zone system, hot flame on one edge of the coal structure and a cooler zone on the other side.  Chefs may  disagree but I have found that when cooking a fatty cut of meat such as a rib steak that a hard sear is not always the way to go.

Four as Dar says Flintstone Steaks!

Yes you should always put a crust on the char but I find that if you move the meat back and forth from the hot zone to the cooler zone that the juices flow evenly and you will always end up with a superior product.

I find that using a South American technique that involves moving the steak from the hot to cold zone and basting it with a cool marinade it allows the meat to cook with out burning the outside.

When you are ready, to char the hot coals are available to use what ever sweet and sticky sauce you may have on your brush.  With any live fire BBQ always let the meats talk to you, do not poke them with probes or cut them to check the juices. Simple feel of the toughness will do. Just lightly check them from time to time with your finger.  Many guides are available online.

For maximum flavor I use a technique called that I’ve named dogpiling. Putting many steaks on one another to slow the cooking process and let the juices flow.

If anyone ever has steak issues, please feel free to comment or contact me.
Every man should be blessed with open flame and some nice meat to call their own.

Bob

13 responses to “BBQ Canadian Winter Style.

  1. I love BBQ’s man. its nice to have many in winter, enjoy mate bless 🙂

  2. Bunny Eats Design

    Hi Bob, those are some mega steaks. It’s summer here in New Zealand, but a little bit of rain during the summer will get us all running indoors and we don’t even bbq when it’s a bit raining. BBQ in winter? Nope. BBQ in the snow? Hell no! You Canadians have balls!

    This kind of cooking with meat directly on top of heat, we call BBQ too. And what we call grilling is what you call broiling (heat above meat). Confusing much?

    • Hey bun bun. No you really don’t confuse me at all.
      All over the world good food and techniques are called many things.
      Thanks for stopping in, feel free to grab a cookie and wander about.
      There are many nice seats in my home here where you can cuddle up and have a read.
      Oh, the cookies are strictly metaphysical but delicious just the same.

  3. OK, am getting hungry here now looking at that. Looks yummy!

    • It was like about 4 pounds of yummy meaty goodness, I am sure if there is a cow god in in universe I am going to Hell directly.

      MOOOOOO,
      Cheers

  4. OK. One? I was wondering where the F winter went, and apparently it went to Canada. It certainly hasn’t shown up here.

    Two? Cook me steaks. Now. But, really, just show them the grill then put them on my plate. Yes, I like blood.

    • I thought you were like a tofu and sprouts kinda girl??? Oh, so confused so confused. But hey a girl does like a touch of good meat every now and then right???

  5. Have never heard of the “piling them on top of each other” method.For me the most important step is resting the meat for maybe ten minutes between cooking and serving, that seems to give the juiciest result. Is that something you do too?

    • Yes, I also rest my streaks for about 15 min. It’s a sin against God and man to cut into a hot steak.

      I developed the technique when my father would buy cheap thin steaks to slow the cooking time and develop flavor.

  6. Where do you pickup charcoal in Winnipeg in the winter months? I can’t find any anywhere. Would love to fire up the Weber next weekend.

  7. I always manage to find charcoal at Canadian Tire. They normally always have a few bags in the stockroom if not on the shelves. So you may have to ask, and be specific. More than once a stock kid tried to give me ceramic bricks for gas grilling. I guess they didn’t grow up with it the way I did?

  8. Thanks Bob,
    I’ll stop by CT tomorrow and see.
    Tim