U2 is driving me crazy tonight!


Oct 20, 201010:00 pm

I guess most of you can gather from my latest posts that I am an experience oriented kind of guy.  Good food, good music and good friends make up the core of who I am as a person.  I am not one to buy the latest or the best of anything to keep up with the neighbours.

But when I am tempted to spend money I like to go and get the best that I can, consequences be damned.  That was all fine and dandy when was a single man, I could easily starve for a couple of weeks to afford my latest adventure, not so easy when me became us.

U2 360 Stage (photo - iamsteph)

Needless to say I was beyond the moon when U2 announced last week that they were bringing the 360 tour to Winnipeg next May.  My obsessive compulsive personality kicked in and I started to plan my attack on the ticket window with all of the precision and single-mindedness required of let’s say the Normandy Invasion of 1944.

U2 360 in Rome (Photo - Jennifer417)

I set about to compile resources, allocating monies, insuring credit cards were good to go.  Researching pre-sale options and back up plans should something fall through. Locations of ticket windows and phone numbers, websites from the band and ticket provider were scoured with manic persistence.

Eventually, slowly, the situation became clear.  A pre-sale would be available but only to U2 fan club subscribers.  A $50 fee, for a chance to get an early shot at tickets.  We bought the package figuring that it would be the best and only chance to get a good seat at a reasonably affordable price.  Credit card info changed hands and we received our password. Only to find that 50 bucks doesn’t buy very much in the way of ticket security.  Because U2 has such a huge world-wide fan base we learned that a pre-sale would be taking place but it would be opened in stages. Members of higher seniority would be granted access to tickets a full 5 hours before members of our tier would be allowed access.

I sat stunned, watching not only our hard-earned money fly out the window but also any chance at a choice seat for the show.  Things only got worse when only a day before the ticket window opened that a FREE pre-sale would be offered by the local football club.  Yep, my beloved Winnipeg Blue Bombers were twisting the knife that the fan club had rammed deftly between my shoulder blades.  Et tu Bombers, et tu?

Attempts to get the situation clarified with the U2 fan club only served to muddy the situation.  They replied in form letter fashion, revealing nothing that I did not already know.  Seemingly one hand did not know what the other was doing.

With a limited budget and time running out I could see myself spinning out of control.   I forced myself to go to sleep, driving the options out of my head.   I’ll go crazy if I don’t go crazy tonight.

Oct 21, 2010 – 8:50 am

About one hour from first pre-sale.  Hoping to get computer time here at work.  Hoping against, hope that good seats will be still around if I end up having to wait until 3 pm for our fan club pre-sale window.  Arrgh!

Oct 21, 2010 – 10:30 am

Tickets secured, through our  Season Ticket Blue Bomber option. Good Seats just what I was hoping to get actually.  Blood pressure returning to normal, breathing slowing.  Co-workers, think I have gone crazy, running back into the area from a quiet computer location.
I am sorry for making your life a living hell darling, I Love You!

Now I just have to keep from chewing my nails off till May 2011. Yikes!!

U2 360 in Rome (Photo by Cyril Witthoff)

14 responses to “U2 is driving me crazy tonight!

  1. Vodka and Ground Beef

    Lucky!!! You did the right thing, although I have to say that U2 Fan Club seems like it might be a Ponzi scheme.

    • Hmmm. That gives me a great idea. Do you think I could get backstage access if Bono or Larry Mullen Jr. thought they would have to do time with Bernie Madoff??

      Oh, Bono, let’s have a little chat now shall we!!

  2. it will all be worth it come may though

    • Welcome Natalie, I am hoping that U2 are on top of their game when they get here next may. They originally were going to skip Winnipeg over on this tour but since Bono had back surgery, our promoters had time to sweeten the deal for the band here I would imagine. Looking forward to seeing U2 for a 3rd time.

  3. wow – that’s a long wait

    • Yea, something like 7 months. Ticket’s officially went on sale yesterday and pretty much disappeared instantly so I guess all of the pre-planning I did was worth it after all.

  4. Argh. All this bullshit with tickets (regardless of band) just makes me so effing annoyed. I hope beyond hope it’s the freakin ticketmaster-something-or-other that forces this, because I would hope that many of the bands I treasure wouldn’t knowingly put their fans through this.

    And I’ve had people wonder why I hate it when bands I love “sell out”.

    I do heart U2. You’re going to have an amazing time. I’m jealous!

    • Hi Nikki!! Thanks for stopping by, love your blog by the way!

      Yea, Ticketmaster always seems to stir the pot and bring up something nasty to the surface. Although in this case I really don’t think it was Ticketmasters doing. The concert was announced and tickets for the pre-sale went on sale in a matter of days. The logistics behind staging a show like this must be mind boggling even at this early stage.

      So mix-ups are bound to happen, although the football club pre-sale that went out to season ticket holders seemed to only have been directed at people, to the best of my knowledge, were already members of the U2 Fan Club. I have spoken to many season ticket holders in the last few days and no one else seems to have gotten that offer.

      Anyways, I have seen U2 twice before, once in Winnipeg for the Pop Mart Tour of 1997 and last year in New York City as part of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Concerts that I was lucky enough to have attended.

      Going to be a BLAST.

      Thanks for stopping by, feel free to come by when ever the mood strikes you. The coffee pot is always on here. :)

  5. That has got to be the coolest stage i’ve ever seen

    • Hi Richard, welcome. I think that is part of the draw for this tour. I know here in Winnipeg the show is over 6 months away yet but already it’s surpassed every ticket sales record for Canad Inns Stadium. Can’t wait to see it for myself up close.

  6. I still can’t believe I missed this concert announcement. I saw them twice in Calgary, and even went to their opening concert in Vegas back when they did the PopMart tour.

    I’m not kidding, “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” is going to be my wedding song.

    • Hi B!!

      Well, what can I say. Were you hiding in a cave?

      I think that there are still some seats here in Winnipeg for this summer’s tour. Get on the bandwagon girl, it’s going to be a party in the “Peg”!! Whooo Hoooo.

      Thanks for stopping in, just started reading your stuff. But really like what I see!

      Bob

  7. Great that you got tickets after all that. Saw the U2 360 tours in Dublin last summer. It was brilliant!! You will have a blast!

    • Yea Ivy I know it’s going to rock!! I have been lucky enough to have seen them twice before. Once in 1997 for the Pop Mart tour. Incredible! And once again in 2009 in New York at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Concerts which I have chronicled in the early months of my blog.

      Looking forward to May 2011!!